Wokingham Stakes
Heritage Handicap, Ascot 17:00
£175,000 added,
3yo plus,
6f, Class 2   
Saturday 22nd June 2019


1 Cape Byron 7/2F
2 Tis Marvellous 14/1
3 Danzeno 7/1
4 Raucous 50/1
26 ran NR: Alba Power, Merhoob, Recon Mission
Distances: 1½l, hd, nk Time: 1m 11.72s (fast by 0.68s)

Cape Byron wins in style to give Andrea Atzeni and Roger Varian a double on the day

Cape Byron evoked memories of 2010 winner Laddies Poker Two when an impressive 7/2 winner of the Wokingham Stakes - and not just because of the major gamble which forced his price down from as big as 9/1 at the start of the day.
After the five-year-old had stormed home a length and a half clear of Tis Marvellous (Adam Kirby) to earn himself a possible crack at the G1 Darley July Cup at Newmarket on July 13, trainer Roger Varian revealed that the suggestion to drop Cape Byron back to six furlongs had come from none other than Mick Denaro, who rode Laddies Poker Two in all her work for Jeremy Noseda.
Varian, enjoying a third win of the week and a second of the afternoon, following Defoe's earlier success carrying the same colours in the G2 Hardwicke Stakes, said: "I have to thank Mick Denaro, who rides Cape Byron in most of his work. He fed me an idea even before Cape Byron won the Victoria Cup. He said he hadn't had such a feel from a horse since he rode Laddies Poker Two, and he said he thought I was running him over too far.
"Mick sowed the seed, and when he won the Victoria Cup he travelled so strongly that you almost wished it was a six and a half furlong race, so we knew this was his race. It just worked out lovely."
He added: "I'm delighted for Sheikh Mohammed Obaid, who has been so loyal and very patient with this horse. I'll have to speak with him about the July Cup, but it will be very tempting. He carried a lot of weight today and was very impressive. It looked the performance of a Group horse."
The owner said: "I'm really proud of Cape Byron and Defoe. When the ground changed my horses performed better that normal.
"I agreed straight away when the trainer said we should drop Cape Byron from seven furlongs to six. The jockey [Andrea Atzeni, also successful on Defoe] also said Cape Byron is fast and better at six furlongs than seven."


Wokingham Stakes (Heritage Handicap)
£175,000 added, 3yo plus, 6f, Class 2
26 ran
Going: Good to Firm

1 CAPE BYRON 5 9-9 7/2
J: Andrea Atzeni T: Roger Varian
2 TIS MARVELLOUS 5 9-3 14/1
J: Adam Kirby T: Clive Cox
3 hd DANZENO 8 9-4 7/1
J: Frankie Dettori T: Michael Appleby
4 nk RAUCOUS 6 9-1 50/1
J: Cieren Fallon T: Robert Cowell
5 1 SUMMERGHAND (IRE) 5 9-2 12/1
J: Daniel Tudhope T: David O'Meara
6 ns GUNMETAL (IRE) 6 9-5 12/1
J: Oisin Murphy T: David Barron
7 hd PERFECTION 4 9-3 28/1
J: Gerald Mosse T: David O'Meara
8 nk LAKE VOLTA (IRE) 4 9-5 20/1
J: Franny Norton T: Mark Johnston
9 nk HEY JONESY (IRE) 4 9-8 17/2
J: Kevin Stott T: Kevin Ryan
10 ½ VANBRUGH (USA) 4 9-10 16/1
J: James McDonald T: Charles Hills
11 ¾ INTISAAB 8 9-5 25/1
J: Jamie Spencer T: David O'Meara
12 ½ WATCHABLE 9 9-0 20/1
J: Jason Watson T: David O'Meara
13 hd STONE OF DESTINY 4 9-4 16/1
J: Silvestre De Sousa T: Andrew Balding
14 nk SOUTHERN HORSE (ARG) 4 9-6 16/1
J: K. J. Manning T: J. S. Bolger, Ireland
15 sh SPRING LOADED (IRE) 7 9-6 16/1
J: Dylan Hogan T: Paul D'Arcy
16 hd FOXTROT LADY 4 9-2 20/1
J: David Probert T: Andrew Balding
17 ½ SIR MAXIMILIAN (IRE) 10 8-11 50/1
J: Fergus Sweeney T: Ian Williams
18 nk FIGHTING IRISH (IRE) 4 8-13 50/1
J: Richard Kingscote T: Harry Dunlop
19 ½ SOLDIER'S MINUTE 4 9-2 22/1
J: Pat Dobbs T: Keith Dalgleish
20 CENOTAPH (USA) 7 9-2 20/1
J: Ryan Moore T: Jeremy Noseda
21 MARNIE JAMES 4 9-6 66/1
J: Jamie Gormley T: Iain Jardine
22 sh BACCHUS 5 9-10 12/1
J: Jim Crowley T: Brian Meehan
23 STRAIGHT RIGHT (FR) 5 9-5 50/1
J: Joshua Bryan T: Andrew Balding
24 nk BARON BOLT 6 9-7 33/1
J: P. J. McDonald T: Paul Cole
25 GIFTED MASTER (IRE) 6 9-9 20/1
J: James Doyle T: Hugo Palmer
26 21 CORINTHIA KNIGHT (IRE) 4 9-2 66/1
J: Thomas Greatrex T: Archie Watson


Past results


2017-WINNER-OUT DO 8-8-13 Owner-Evan Sutherland; Trainer-David O’Meara; Jockey-Daniel Tudhope; SP-25/1
2ND-Steady Pace 4-9-04 Owner-Godolphin; Trainer-Saeed bin Suroor; Jockey-Josephine Gordon; SP-16/1
3RD-Projection 4-9-00 Owner-The Royal Ascot Racing Club; Trainer-Roger Charlton; Jockey-Kieran Shoemark; SP-15/2
4TH-Polybius 6-9-01 Owner-Karmaa Racing Ltd & Partners; Trainer-David Simcock; Jockey-Oisin Murphy; SP-33/1
27 ran; Time-1m 13.02s; Dist-½, nk, nk 11/2 fav Raucous (8th)

2016-WINNER-OUTBACK TRAVELLER 5-9-01 Owner-Lordship Stud & Mrs J Morley; Trainer-Robert Cowell; Jockey-Martin Harley; SP-10/1
2ND-Brando 4-9-02 Owner-Ms Angie Bailey; Trainer-Kevin Ryan; Jockey-Tom Eaves; SP-7/1 Jt Fav
3RD-Glen Moss 7-9-01 Owner-Ritchie Fiddes; Trainer-Michael Dods; Jockey-Philip Makin; SP-25/1
4TH-Absolutely So 6-9-10 Owner-The George Smith Family Partnership; Trainer-Andrew Balding; Jockey-Oisin Murphy; SP-25/1
28 ran; Time-1m 14.05s; Dist-nk, 1½, ¾ 7/1 Jt Fav (The Happy Prince 15th)

2015-WINNER-INTERCEPTION 5-9-03 Owner-Bjorn Nielsen; Trainer-David Lanigan; Jockey-George Baker; SP-10/1
2ND-Robert Le Diable 6-9-05 Owner-Bryan Lynam; Trainer-Didier Prod'homme FR; Jockey-Damien Oliver; SP-12/1
3RD-Lancelot Du Lac 5-9-05 Owner-Michael & Heather Yarrow; Trainer-Dean Ivory; Jockey-Robert Winston; SP-25/1
4TH-Related 5-8-12 Owner-J Barnett & M Caine; Trainer-David Simcock; Jockey-Fergus Sweeney; SP-50/1
25 ran; Time-1m 13.20s; Dist-11⁄4, 1, 3⁄4 7/1 Fav Watchable (5th)

2014-WINNER-BACCARAT 5-9-02 Owner-Sir Robert Ogden; Trainer-Richard Fahey; Jockey-George Chaloner; SP-9/1
2ND-Professor 4-9-08 Owner-Poilin Good; Trainer-Richard Hannon; Jockey-Ryan Moore; SP-10/1
3RD-Rivellino 4-9-04 Owner-Melba Bryce; Trainer-Karl Burke; Jockey-William Buick; SP-25/1
4TH-Alben Star 6-9-04 Owner- J Shannon & M Scaife; Trainer-Richard Fahey; Jockey-Paul Hanagan; SP-16/1
28 ran; Time-1m 12.09s; Dist-11⁄2, 3⁄4, nk 4/1 Fav Absolutely So (15th)

2013-WINNER-YORK GLORY 5-9-02 Owner-Salman Rashed & Mohamed Khalifa; Trainer-Kevin Ryan; Jockey-Jamie Spencer; SP-14/1
2ND-Shropshire 5-9-01 Owner-Catherine Corbett & Chris Wright; Trainer-Charlie Hills; Jockey-James McDonald; SP-12/1
3RD-Dinkum Diamond 5-9-02 Owner-Eight Star Syndicate; Trainer-Henry Candy; Jockey-Cathy Gannon; SP-22/1
4TH-Khubala 4-9-05 Owner-Pinar Araci Bas; Trainer-Hugo Palmer; Jockey-Frankie Dettori; SP-16/1
26 ran; Time-1m 13.79s; Dist-13⁄4, 1, 3⁄4 6/1 Fav Gabriel’s Lad (9th)

2012-WINNER-DANDY BOY 6-9-08 Owner-Malih Al Basti; Trainer-David Marnane IRE; Jockey-Pat Dobbs; SP-33/1
2ND-Waffle 6-9-02 Owner-Laurence O’Kane & Paul Murphy; Trainer-David Barron; Jockey-Fran Berry; SP-11/1
3RD-Hawkeyethenoo 6-9-04 Owner-Johnnie Delta Racing; Trainer-Jim Goldie; Jockey-Graham Lee; SP-20/1
4TH-Morache Music 4-9-07 Owner- R P Marchant, D M Ahier & Mrs E Lee; Trainer-Peter Makin; Jockey-Seb Sanders; SP-20/1
28 ran; Time-1m 13.87s; Dist-11⁄4, 1⁄2, sh 15/2 Fav Lightning Cloud (9th)