Hampton Court Stakes
Group 3, Ascot 13:50
Winner: £35,520,
3yo only,
1m 1f 212y, Class 1   
Wednesday 17th June 2020


1 Russian Emperor 10/3
2 First Receiver 9/4F
3 Berlin Tango 4/1
8 ran Distances: ½l, 1¼l, 3l
Time: 2m 5.86s (slow by 1.86s)

A strong run in the final furlong saw the winner get up and deny The Queen’s runner First Receiver by half a length over a mile and a quarter.  

Russian Emperor was a second winner of the week for both trainer Aidan O’Brien and jockey Ryan Moore, following the success of Circus Maximus in yesterday’s G1 Queen Anne Stakes. It was also a landmark 60th success at the Royal Meeting for Moore.

Moore said: “He is a lovely colt, straightforward and with a good attitude. He was very professional; he has had the benefit of a couple of runs this year and let us see if he will keep progressing. He has a very good pedigree – his dam was exceptional in Australia. I think he will be a nice horse going forward for the rest of the year.

Asked about the Derby, he said: “That will be decided. He will give himself a chance to stay, anyway.”

Asked about achieving a 60th Royal Ascot winner, he said: “You wouldn’t really give it any thought, would you?”

Frankie Dettori said of the runner-up: “First Receiver ran a bit fresh, but he ran a super race.”

Andrew Balding, trainer of the third Berlin Tango, commented: “Berlin Tango ran very well with a penalty. It was an excellent run from three good horses. He will go to the Dante Stakes next. A mile and a quarter is his trip.”


Hampton Court Stakes (Group 3)
(Formerly The Tercentenary Stakes)
Winner: £35,520, 3yo only, 1m 1f 212y, Class 1
8 ran
Going: Good, Good to Soft in places

1 (6)     Russian Emperor 3 9-0 A P O'Brien Ryan Moore 100/30
2 (4)
½ First Receiver 3 9-0 Sir Michael Stoute Frankie Dettori 9/4F
3 (5)
Berlin Tango 3 9-4 Andrew Balding Oisin Murphy 4/1
4 (3)
3 Juan Elcano 3 9-0 Kevin Ryan Andrea Atzeni 7/2
5 (7)
¾ New World Tapestry 3 9-0 A P O'Brien Adam Kirby 50/1
6 (2)
2 Kenzai Warrior 11 3 9-4 Roger Teal Jason Watson 16/1
7 (1)
Mascat 3 9-0 Ralph Beckett Harry Bentley 22/1
8 (8)
20 King Carney 3 9-0 Charlie Fellowes Daniel Tudhope 40/1




2017 3 BENBATL Saeed bin Suroor Oisin Murphy Godolphin 3-9-00 9/2
2016 3 HAWKBILL Charlie Appleby William Buick Godolphin 3-9-00 11/2
2015 3 TIME TEST Roger Charlton Frankie Dettori Khalid Abdullah 3-9-00 15/8F
2014 3 CANNOCK CHASE Sir Michael Stoute Ryan Moore Saeed Suhail 3-9-00 7/4F
2013 3 REMOTE John Gosden William Buick Khalid Abdullah 3-9-00 9/4F
2012 3 ENERGIZER Jens Hirschberger GER Adrie de Vries Gestut Schlenderhan 3-9-00 15/2
201 3 PISCO SOUR Hughie Morrison Jimmy Fortune Michael Kerr-Dineen 3-9-00 20/1
2010 L AFSARE Luca Cumani Kieren Fallon Sheikh Mohammed Obaid Al Maktoum 3-9-05 9/4F
2009 L GLASS HARMONIUM Sir Michael Stoute Ryan Moore Ballymacoll Stud 3-9-02 8/1
2008 L COLLECTION William Haggas Kerrin McEvoy Highclere Thoroughbred Racing 3-9-02 13/2
2007 L ZAHAM Mark Johnston Richard Hills Hamdan Al Maktoum 3-9-02 7/2F
2006 L SNOQUALMIE BOY David Elsworth John Egan Jeff Smith 3-8-11 33/1
*2005 L INDIGO CAT Aidan O’Brien IRE Kieren Fallon Sue Magnier & Michael Tabor 3-8-11 3/1F
2004 L MOSCOW BALLET Aidan O’Brien IRE Jamie Spencer Michael Tabor & Sue Magnier 3-8-11 8/1
2003 L PERSIAN MAJESTY Peter Harris Johnny Murtagh Dr Jamal Ahmadzadeh 3-8-11 8/1
2002 L BURNING SUN Henry Cecil Richard Quinn Khalid Abdullah 3-8-11 14/1
*run at York