Virgin Bet Ayr Gold Cup
Heritage Handicap, Ayr 15:05
£150,000 added,
3yo plus,
6f, Class 2   
Saturday 18th September 2021

Virgin Bet is to sponsor Scotland’s most famous flat race, the Ayr Gold Cup, and will also have naming rights for the three-day Ayr Gold Cup Festival which runs from Thursday September 16th through until Saturday September 18th.

Ayr Racecourse and Virgin Bet

Ayr Racecourse and Virgin Bet, the UK’s fastest growing sportsbook, unveiled the exciting new sponsorship deal during racing at the track on Monday July 26.

The Virgin Bet Ayr Gold Cup will be run on Saturday September 18th and will be the highlight of ITV Racing’s live television coverage on the day.

In addition to the Virgin Bet Ayr Gold Cup, the sportsbook will sponsor seven other races during the week. On Saturday, this includes the Ayr Silver Cup, the Firth of Clyde Stakes (Scotland’s only Group race), and the Doonside Cup Listed Race. Virgin Bet will also sponsor Thursday’s Kilkerran Cup and the Ayr Bronze Cup on Friday.

David Brown, Managing Director of Ayr Racecourse , said : “I am thrilled that Virgin Bet have chosen to sponsor the Ayr Gold Cup which is not only Scotland’s premier flat race but one of the most prestigious sprint handicaps in the racing calendar.

“It is exciting for the team at Ayr to welcome Virgin Bet as sponsors of both the Ayr Gold Cup and as headline sponsors of the Virgin Bet Ayr Gold Cup Festival, along with several other races over the three days.

“Sponsorship has never been as important to racing that it is now in these difficult times, so it is with great pride we announce Virgin Bet as title sponsors of the Ayr Gold Cup. Virgin Bet is an exciting brand and I hope we can work together at Ayr for many years to come.”

James McKay, Sportsbook Director at Virgin Bet added : “We are excited to announce Virgin Bet’s new partnership with Ayr Racecourse, one of the great brands in UK racing. As one of the UK’s fastest growing sportsbooks, we know how much our customers enjoy the excitement of premier racing events at the most historic racecourses. The Virgin Bet Ayr Gold Cup will be a big moment in the flat-racing season, and we can’t wait to play our role over all three days at the Virgin Bet Ayr Gold Cup Festival.”

The roll call of winners of the Ayr Gold Cup down the years include last year’s winner Nahaarr and 2016 champion Brando, who subsequently went on to win a Group 1 contest in France. Other notable winners include Captain Ramius in 2012, and Lochsong, a former European horse of the year, who won the race in 1992.

Leading jockeys to have won the race include Frankie Dettori (twice), Paul Hanagan, Oisin Murphy and James Doyle.

Entries for this year’s Virgin Bet Ayr Gold Cup close on Tuesday August 10 at noon.

QTS Ayr Gold Cup 2020
£75,000 added, 3yo plus, 6f, Class 2
24 ran
Going: Good to Soft, Soft in places

1 (13)     Nahaarr 4 9-5 William Haggas Tom Marquand 7/2F
2 (9)
½ Spanish City 7 9-3 Roger Varian Ray Dawson 22/1
3 (11)
1 Mr Lupton 7 9-8 5ex Richard Fahey Billy Garritty 10/1
4 (3)
½ Soldier's Minute 5 9-3 Keith Dalgleish Callum Rodriguez 20/1
5 (7)
shd Kynren 6 9-10 David Barron William Carver 12/1
6 (10)
hd Lahore 6 9-9 Phillip Makin Rowan Scott 50/1
7 (25)
nk Arecibo 5 8-13 David O'Meara Andrea Atzeni 28/1
8 (18)
hd Wise Counsel 4 9-3 Clive Cox Daniel Tudhope 11/1
9 (22)
nk Bielsa 5 9-4 Kevin Ryan Tom Eaves 25/1
10 (4)
1 Young Fire 5 9-1 5ex David O'Meara Shane Gray 16/1
11 (20)
¾ Gulliver 6 9-10 David O'Meara Jason Hart 28/1
12 (21)
Cold Stare 5 9-1 5ex David O'Meara Paul Mulrennan 66/1
13 (19)
Stone Of Destiny 5 9-3 5ex Andrew Balding Oisin Murphy 12/1
14 (1)
½ Lexington Dash 3 8-12 Richard Hannon Sean Levey 14/1
15 (6)
Another Batt 5 9-1 David Barron Connor Beasley 10/1
16 (14)
shd Air Raid 5 9-2 Jedd O'Keeffe Jack Garritty 40/1
17 (12)
shd Barbill 4 9-7 5ex Mick Channon Franny Norton 20/1
18 (8)
nk Hey Jonesy 5 9-9 Kevin Ryan Kevin Stott 14/1
19 (15)
½ Staxton 5 8-13 5ex Tim Easterby Duran Fentiman 12/1
20 (5)
¾ Gabrial The Wire 4 9-0 Richard Fahey Paul Hanagan 28/1
21 (2)
¾ Rayong 3 9-1 K R Burke Ben Curtis 28/1
22 (24)
Bungee Jump 5 8-13 Grace Harris Richard Kingscote 66/1
23 (16)
nk Major Jumbo 6 9-10 Kevin Ryan Megan Nicholls 40/1
24 (17)
54 Koropick 6 9-3 1 Colin Teague Royston Ffrench 150/1
NR 23 (23) Wentworth Falls 8 8-13 Geoffrey Harker NON RUNNER

Mathematician Betting