Ballymore Classic Novices' Hurdle
(Registered As The Classic Novices' Hurdle)
Grade 2, Cheltenham 15:00
£32,000 added, 4yo plus,
2m 4f 110y, Class 1  
Saturday 26th January 2019

Free Racing Tips

1 Birchdale 2/1
2 Buster Valentine 16/1
3 Jarveys Plate 5/2
5 ran NR: Not That Fuisse Distances: 18l, ½l, 10l
Time: 5m 4.90s (slow by 17.90s

Birchdale wins as Brewin'upastorm falls at the last

Birchdale, trained by Nicky Henderson, capitalised on Brewin'Upastorm's fall at the final flight

Birchdale, trained by Nicky Henderson, capitalised on Brewin'Upastorm's fall at the final flight to maintain his unbeaten record with a wide-margin success. 
It was a landmark 1,875th success for Barry Geraghty, who moved up to fourth on the list of most successful jockeys ever in Britain and Ireland. 
6/4 favourite Brewin'Upastorm (Olly Murphy/Richard Johnson) led the five-strong field from the off and still held a narrow advantage when falling at the last, leaving Birchdale in front to come home 18 lengths clear of Buster Valentine (Ruth Jefferson/Leighton Aspell). 
Lambourn-based Nicky Henderson said: "You never like to see that and it was going to be a good race. I am sure that both jockeys will say that they would have won - you can take that for granted!
"Birchdale is only a baby but is doing his job nicely. He is a talented youngster. The form of his Warwick win has worked out well but I thought that he was just a bit green throughout the race today - he was on and off it a little bit but jumped very well. 

"I was originally going to come here with Champ but there was no point as he didn't need another race. They are both really Ballymore horses and it was really sorting the pack out a little bit. 
"I do like this horse a lot but it was only the second hurdle race of his life, so he will have learned a lot today."
Barry Geraghty added: "We will never know who would have won, but I think there wouldn't have been a lot in it. 
"I was getting there on a baby, who lacked experience, but I was getting there. I was happy enough and coming with a good challenge, but it was simplified anyway.
"It was only his second racecourse run, but he did everything you would like through the race. Dickie (Richard Johnson) brought a good gallop and was finding us out - we knew that we were in a good battle and we were going to have to work hard to beat him. 
"Birchdale hasn't the experience compared to Champ and would have learned a lot today. He is a little baby but you have to love him."

Horses 468x60 Jpg

Ballymore Novices' Hurdle
(Registered As The Classic Novices' Hurdle) (Grade 2)
£32,000 added, 4yo plus, 2m 4f 56y, Class 1
5 ran
Going: Good to Soft, Good in places

Pos D Horse SP Jockey Weight Trainer Age
1st Birchdale (IRE) 2/1 B J Geraghty
N J Henderson 5
2nd 18 Buster Valentine (IRE) 16/1 L P Aspell
Ruth Jefferson 6
3rd ½ Jarveys Plate (IRE) 5/2 P J Brennan
F O'Brien 6
4th 10 The Wolf (FR) 40/1 D A Jacob
W Greatrex 5
F Brewin'upastorm (IRE) 6/4f R Johnson
Olly Murphy 6
NR Not That Fuisse (FR) Harry Skelton
D Skelton 6

Year Horse Owner Trainer Weight Jockey SP

2000 Monsignor Malcolm Denmark Mark Pitman 6-11-12 Norman Williamson 1/2 f
2001 Indian Scout Indian Scout Partnership Ben De Haan 6-11-06 Liam Cummins 2/1
2002 Keen Leader Adair Catherwood Jonjo O’Neill 6-11-05 Liam Cooper 10/11 f
2003 Iris’s Gift Robert Lester Jonjo O’Neill 6-11-09 Barry Geraghty 1/3 f
2004 Abandoned
2005 Ambobo Sean Mulryan Arnaud Chaille-Chaille FR 5-11-12 Barry Geraghty 14/1
2006 Abandoned
2007 Wichita Lineman J P McManus Jonjo O’Neill 6-11-12 Tony McCoy Evens f
2008 Aigle D’Or J P McManus Nicky Henderson 5-11-09 Marcus Foley 7/4 f
2009 Diamond Harry Paul Duffy/Diamond Partnership Nick Williams 6-11-12 Timmy Murphy 8/15 f
2010 Restless Harry Richard Whitehead Robin Dickin 6-11-12 Henry Oliver 7/2
2011 Bobs Worth The Not Afraid Partnership Nicky Henderson 6-11-12 Barry Geraghty 7/2
2012 Batonnier Raymond Mould Alan King 6-11-05 Wayne Hutchinson 12/1
2013 At Fishers Cross J P McManus Rebecca Curtis 6-11-12 A P McCoy 13/2
2014 Red Sherlock The Johnson Family David Pipe 5-11-09 Tom Scudamore 9/4
2015 Ordo Ab Chao A Marsh Alan King 6-11-09 Wayne Hutchinson 16/1
2016 Yanworth J P McManus Alan King 6-11-12 Barry Geraghty 2/1f
2017 Wholestone Simon Munir & Isaac Souede Nigel Twiston-Davies 6-11-10 Daryl Jacob 11/4 f
2018 Santini Mr & Mrs R Kelvin-Hughes Nicky Henderson 6-11-05 J McGrath 4/1