JCB Triumph Hurdle Trial
(Registered As The Finesse Juvenile Hurdle)
Grade 2, Cheltenham 12:40
£30,000 added, 4yo only,
2m 1f, Class 1  
Saturday 30th January 2016

Free Racing Tips

1 Protek Des Flos 25/1
2 Clan Des Obeaux 11/8F
3 Consul De Thaix 10/1
6 ran Distances: 1¼l, 1¾l, nk
TIME 4m 29.00s (slow by 35.00s)

Protek Des Flos sprang a 25-1 surprise when making a successful British debut in the JCB Triumph Hurdle Trial at Cheltenham.

Protek Des Flos
Protek Des Flos

The outsider of six, trained by Nicky Henderson, came through to head Clan Des Obeaux on the run-in after the 11-8 favourite looked like having the measure of the opposition.

However, Noel Fehily produced Protek Des Flos with a strong bid after jumping the last in fourth place to lead in the final half a furlong and score by a length and a quarter.

The French import's stablemate Consul De Thaix was third.

Henderson said: "We had to find out with both of them where they are and what they are.

"This (Protek Des Flos) is only a baby and he doesn't show much at home.

"The Triumph Hurdle has not closed so he would be given an entry in that, I suppose.

"He has only had two races in any discipline in his life so he doesn't really know anything but he did do it well.

"Noel followed them round. He kept travelling and just kept picking up. He never really had a smack.

"They had both run well around Auteuil so they've actually handled the soft ground."

Horses 468x60 Jpg

JCB Triumph Hurdle Trial
(Registered As The Finesse Juvenile Hurdle) (Grade 2)
£30,000 added, 4yo only, 2m 179y, Class 1
6 ran
Going: Heavy

Pos D Horse Jockey Weight Trainer Age
1st Protek Des Flos (FR) 25/1 N D Fehily
N J Henderson 4
2nd Clan Des Obeaux (FR) 11/8f Sam Twiston-Davies
P F Nicholls 4
3rd Consul De Thaix (FR) 10/1 B J Geraghty
N J Henderson 4
4th nk Who Dares Wins (IRE) 13/8 R Johnson
A King 4
5th 8 Duke Of Medina (IRE) 14/1 G Sheehan
H Whittington 4
6th 60 Wolf Of Windlesham (IRE) 12/1 Joshua Moore
Stuart Edmunds 4


Year Horse Owner Trainer Weight Jockey SP

1990 Sayyure Brian Lovrey Nigel Tinkler 11-08 Graham McCourt 3/1
1991 Hopscotch Pipe Scudamore Racing Martin Pipe 11-02 Peter Scudamore 8/11 f
1992 Abandoned
1993 Major Bugler Colin Buckle Toby Balding 11-00 Adrian Maguire 13/2
1994 Pridwell Pond House Racing Martin Pipe 11-00 Richard Dunwoody 3/1
1995 Brave Tornado Bridget Swire Toby Balding 11-04 AP McCoy 7/2
1996 Abandoned
1997 Shooting Light John Brown Pat Murphy 11-00 Richard Dunwoody 10/11 f
1998 Zafarabad Elaine Baines David Nicholson 11-00 Richard Johnson 1/3 f
1999 Hors La Loi III John Martin Francois Doumen FR 11-08 Thierry Doumen 5/2
2000 Mister Banjo Million In Mind P’ship Nicky Henderson 11-08 Mick Fitzgerald 2/7 f
2001 Jair Du Cochet Miriam Montauban Guillaume Macaire FR 11-08 Jacques Ricou Evens f
2002 Vol Solitaire Barry Marshall Paul Nicholls 11-00 Joe Tizzard 11/1
2003 Moneytrain Tina Hamann Christian Von Der Recke GER 11-00 Robert Thornton 25/1
2004 Mondul Let’s Live Racing Milton Harris 11-08 Ollie McPhail 11/2
2005 Akilak Ada Partnership Howard Johnson 11-00 Graham Lee 50/1
2006 Abandoned
2007 Katchit D S J P Syndicate Alan King 11-07 Robert Thornton 2/1 f
2008 Franchoek J P McManus Alan King 11-07 Robert Thornton 10/11 f
2009 Walkon McNeill Racing Alan King 11-07 Robert Thornton 6/5 f
2010 Baccalaureate The Yes No Wait Sorries Nigel Twiston-Davies 11-00 Paddy Brennan 100/1
2011 Local Hero Phil Martin Steve Gollings 11-04 Tony McCoy 15/8 f
2012 Grumeti* The McNeill Family Alan King 11-04 Wayne Hutchinson 7/4 jf
2013 Rolling Star Michael Buckley & Vestey Family Nicky Henderson 11-07 Barry Geraghty 5/2
2014 Le Rocher John White & Anne Underhill Nick Williams 11-07 Richard Johnson 2/1
2015 Peace And Co Simon Munir & Isaac Souede Nicky Henderson 11-07 Barry Geraghty 4/9 f