Peter Marsh Chase
arbitrage betting
Grade 2, Haydock Park 15:15
£50,000 added,
5yo plus,
3m 24y, Class 1  
Saturday 23rd January 2016


1 Cloudy Too 6/1
2 Virak 9/2
3 Fingal Bay 5/1
NR: Katenko (FR)
12 ran Distances: 15l, 5l, 7l
TIME 6m 42.00s (slow by 37.00s)

Cloudy Too turns the race into procession as he leads home Virak & Fingal Bay in stamina-sapping going

Cloudy Too
© Racehorse Photos
Cloudy Too

Cloudy Too provided Sue Smith and Danny Cook with another nice prize this season after winning the Peter Marsh Chase at Haydock.

Two big wins for Wakanda and the North Yorkshire Grand National success of Lackamon have given Cook the rejuvenation his career needed.

His talent has never been in doubt, though, and while he did not need to do much on Cloudy Too, who came home unchallenged, the confidence a jockey rides with cannot be understated.

Having run in the Cheltenham Gold Cup two years ago, Cloudy Too (6-1) had badly lost his way but hinted at a return to form in the Tommy Whittle Chase at this track in December.

It was hard luck for Gas Line Boy backers, though, as the outsider, having his first run for Jim Best, was the only horse still on the bridle when he fell at the fourth-last.

That left Cloudy Too in front and he was unchallenged in the straight with Virak - once more finding a horse from the Smith yard in his path having finished second to Wakanda twice this year - 15 lengths away in second.

Fingal Bay was another five lengths back in third, but yet again Reve De Sivola never convinced over fences and was beaten a long way.

"It's great to get him back to something like his best," said Cook.

"He was a very good horse two years ago but lost his way.

"He loves heavy ground and jumped well. He was responding with every squeeze and I was following Gas Line Boy and when he fell I was left in front and able to give him a breather.

"It's a great training performance to get him back and to get a decent prize out of him is great."

Mathematician Betting

Peter Marsh Chase (Limited Handicap)
£50,000 added, 5yo plus, 3m 24y, Class 1
12 ran
Going: Heavy

Pos D Horse SP Jockey Trainer Age
1st Cloudy Too (IRE) 6/1 Danny Cook
Mrs S J Smith 10
2nd 15 Virak (FR) 9/2 Harry Cobden (7)
P F Nicholls 7
3rd 5 Fingal Bay (IRE) 5/1 T J O'Brien
P J Hobbs 10
4th 7 Seventh Sky (GER) 14/1 G Sheehan
C J Mann 9
5th 16 Reve De Sivola (FR) 3/1f J Reveley
Nick Williams 11
6th 24 Third Intention (IRE) 20/1 Paul O'Brien (7)
C L Tizzard 9
PU Splash of Ginge 12/1 Ryan Hatch (3)
N A Twiston-Davies 8
PU Algernon Pazham (IRE) 8/1 Sam Twiston-Davies
N A Twiston-Davies 7
PU Presenting Junior (IRE) 33/1 Harry Challoner (3)
M Todhunter 9
PU Universal Soldier (IRE) 25/1 Harry Skelton
P Bowen 11
UR Gas Line Boy (IRE) 25/1 B Hughes
Jim Best 10
UR Man With Van (IRE) 25/1 A W Short (7)
S R B Crawford 10
NR Katenko (FR) 10/1 Non Runner
Miss V Williams 10




2015 Samstown
2014 Wychwoods Brook
2013 no race
2012 According To Pete
2011 no race
2010 Our Vic 12-11-03 D A Johnson David Pipe Danny Cook
2009 Cloudy Lane 7-11-10 Trevor Hemmings Donald McCain, Jr. Jason Maguire
2008 no race
2007 THE OUTLIER 9-10-03 P J Murphy Venetia Williams Paul O’Neill 8/1
2006 EBONY LIGHT 10-9-13 Roger Bellamy Ginger McCain Stephen Craine 33/1
2005 LORD TRANSCEND 8-10-04 Andrea & Graham Wylie Howard Johnson Graham Lee 9/4F
2004 ARCTIC JACK 8-10-06 Trevor Hemmings Sue Smith Dominic Elsworth 6/1
2003 TRUCKERS TAVERN 8-10-09 Margaret Scholey Ferdy Murphy Davy Russell 9/2
2002 RED STRIKER 8-11-01 Norman Mason Norman Mason Richard Guest 8/1
2001 Meeting abandoned due to frost
2000 THE LAST FLING 10-10-12 Trevor Hemmings Sue Smith Seamus Durack 11/2
1999 GENERAL WOLFE 10-10-12 The Winning Line Venetia Williams Norman Williamson 4/1
1998 GENERAL WOLFE 9-10-10 Winning Line Racing Ltd Tim Forster Norman Williamson 11/2
1997 JODAMI 12-11-10 John Yeadon Peter Beaumont Norman Williamson 9/2
1996 SCOTTON BANKS 7-11-06 Ian Bray Peter Easterby Russ Garritty 15/8F
1995 EARTH SUMMIT 7-10-04 The Summit Partnership Nigel Twiston-Davies Tom Jenks 7/1
1994 ZETA’S LAD 11-10-10 Andrew Cohen John Upson Robbie Supple 5/1
1993 JODAMI 8-11-02 John Yeadon Peter Beaumont Mark Dwyer 5/4F
1992 TWIN OAKS 12-11-10 John Moreton Gordon Richards Neale Doughty 5/4F
1991 Meeting abandoned due to frost
1990 NICK THE BRIEF 8-10-09 John Upson John Upson Martin Lynch 15/8F
1989 BISHOPS YARN 10-10-12 British Thoroughbred R & B Toby Balding Richard Guest 13/2
1988 Meeting abandoned due to snow
1987 THE THINKER 9-11-10 T P M McDonagh Ltd Arthur Stephenson Ridley Lamb 9/2
1986 COMBS DITCH 10-11-08 Jim Tory David Elsworth Colin Brown 3/1
1985 Meeting abandoned due to frost
1984 Meeting abandoned due to frost
1983 ASHLEY HOUSE 9-10-07 J McLoughlin Michael Dickinson Robert Earnshaw 11/8F
1982 BREGAWN 8-10-07 James Kennelly Michael Dickinson Robert Earnshaw 11/2
1981 LITTLE OWL 7-11-03 Robin Wilson Peter Easterby Mr Jim Wilson 4/6F

Free Racing Tips