Paddy Power Cotswold Chase
Grade 2, Sandown 14:30
£120,000 guaranteed,
5yo plus,
3m 1f 56y, Class 1  
Saturday 29th January 2022

Trainers Quotes

1 Chantry House 5/6F
2 Santini 10/1
3 Aye Right 9/2
5 ran Distances: 2½l, 2¾l, 6l
Time: 6m 33.81s (slow by 8.81s)

After being pulled-up in the King George when sent off favourite at Kempton Park on Boxing Day, the Nicky Henderson-trained Chantry House had a point to prove as he lined up under Nico de Boinville for the five-runner affair.

The eight-year-old started as the 5-6 market leader but travelled only moderately at times, inching into the lead as his rivals tired before staying on in determined fashion for a two-and-a-half-length victory.

Former stablemate Santini kept him honest up the hill for new trainer Polly Gundry, with Harriet Graham’s Aye Right taking third place under Callum Bewley.

The triumph was equally notable as a 4,000th winner for owner JP McManus, and Henderson said: “Well I think that’s wonderful, nothing gives me more pleasure than doing that and it’s lovely that it’s at Cheltenham.

“It’s here in a proper race at Cheltenham. Well done JP, he’s been an amazing friend and supporter and nothing gives me more pleasure, I can assure you. Well done boss!”

He added: “It’s fantastic. We had AP’s (McCoy) 3,000th – nobody dreamt then he’d get to 4000! We’re trying to get to 3,000 and might not be far away actually.

“I’m very lucky. I’ve always said to everybody that I have the best team of owners anyone could have.

“JP has the most horses and does send me some seriously lovely horses. My job is to get them here.”

Trainers Quotes

Of Chantry House, who was sporting cheekpieces for the first time, the Seven Barrows trainer said: “I’m pleased that’s done and he’s got the job done. He’s had a really good blow actually and he was tired, which is why Nico jumped off (after the line).

“If you go back, it’s actually his first (competitive) race since Aintree last year. He won a two-horse race at Sandown and went nowhere at Kempton.

“We mooted putting the cheekpieces on months ago, between Nico and AP and myself. We thought about putting them on in the King George, but I thought he was sharp enough – he wasn’t.

“He just wasn’t sharp enough for that game – going flat out over three miles. They went very quick at Kempton and he was lost after three or four fences.

“We tried the cheekpieces at home and they definitely sharpened him up, so the big question was whether to put them on today or keep them for March.

“I rather felt he had to win today to stay in ball game for the Gold Cup and therefore he had to have them on.

“Santini always goes a good gallop, he had to work hard and he did get tired, but he was entitled to and we’ve got plenty of time, so I think we take positives out of it all.

“If he hadn’t won today you’d have to say he’d have no business running in the Gold Cup.”

Horses 468x60 Jpg

Cotswold Chase
£120,000 guaranteed, 5yo plus, 3m 1f 56y, Class 1
5 ran
Going: Good

1    Chantry House 8 11-6 Nicky Henderson Nico de Boinville 5/6F
Santini 10 11-2 Polly Gundry Nick Scholfield 10/1
Aye Right 9 11-6 Harriet Graham Callum Bewley 9/2
6 Kauto Riko 11 11-2 Tom Gretton Brian Hughes 66/1
Simply The Betts 9 11-2 Paul Nicholls Harry Cobden 3/1

Year Horse Owner Trainer Weight Jockey SP
1980 Raffi Nelson Mrs P Fry Nicky Henderson 7-11-06 Steve Smith Eccles 5/2
1981 Little Owl R Wilson Peter Easterby 7-11-12 Mr Jim Wilson 8/11f
1982 Lesley Ann B Gaule David Elsworth 8-11-12 Colin Brown 5/2
1983 Combs Ditch Jim Tory David Elsworth 7-11-08 Colin Brown 6/1
1984 Everett Kilian Hennessy Fulke Walwyn 9-11-08 Stuart Shilston 15/8f
1985 West Tip Peter Luff Michael Oliver 8-11-06 Richard Dunwoody 5/2
1986 Misty Spirit Mrs E Dixon Donald Lee 7-11-06 Steve Smith Eccles 9/1
1987 Abandoned
1988* Twin Oaks John Moreton David Murray-Smith 8-11-06 Paul Croucher 6/1
1989 Deep Moment Mrs M Curtis Mercy Rimell 7-11-03 Dermot Browne 12/1
1990 Toby Tobias Elizabeth Hitchins Jenny Pitman 8-11-06 Mark Pitman 5/4
1991 Celtic Shot D E H Horton Charlie Brooks 9-11-12 Peter Scudamore 8/11f
1992 Abandoned
1993 Sibton Abbey Geoff Hubbard Ferdy Murphy 8-11-12 Steve Smith Eccles 16/1
1994 Dubacilla Veronica Cole Henry Cole 8-10-12 Dean Gallagher 8/1
1995 Master Oats Paul Matthews Kim Bailey 9-11-06 Norman Williamson 6/4f
1996 Abandoned
1997 One Man John Hales Gordon Richards 9-11-12 Richard Dunwoody 2/5f
1998 See More Business John Keighley/Paul Barber Paul Nicholls 8-11-06 Timmy Murphy 9/4f
1999 Cyfor Malta David Johnson Martin Pipe 6-11-06 A P McCoy 10/11f
2000 Looks Like Trouble Tim Collins Noel Chance 8-11-06 Norman Williamson 100/30
2001 See More Business Paul Barber/Robert Ogden Paul Nicholls 11-11-10 Mick Fitzgerald 9/4
2002 Rince Ri Frank Moriarty Ted Walsh IRE 9-11-10 Ruby Walsh 9/2
2003 Behrajan The Behrajan Partnership Henry Daly 8-11-06 Richard Johnson 9/2
2004 Jair Du Cochet Miriam Montauban Guillaume Macaire FR 7-11-10 Jacques Ricou 11/4
2005 Grey Abbey The Roper Family/Norman Furness Howard Johnson 11-11-10 Graham Lee 100/30
2006** See You Sometime J Meaden Seamus Mullins 11-11-05 Andrew Thornton 18/1
2007 Exotic Dancer Sir Robert Ogden Jonjo O’Neill 7-11-06 A P McCoy 6/1
2008 Knowhere Raymond Mould Nigel Twiston-Davies 10-11-04 Paddy Brennan 16/1
2009 Joe Lively Richard Dimond Colin Tizzard 10-11-06 Joe Tizzard 11/1
2010 Taranis Angela Yeoman Paul Nicholls 9-11-00 Nick Scholfield 16/1
2011 Neptune Collonges John Hales Paul Nicholls 10-11-00 A P McCoy 11/2
2012 Midnight Chase Lady Clarke Neil Mulholland 10-11-06 Dougie Costello 11/2
2013 Cape Tribulation David Abell Malcolm Jefferson 9-11-06 Denis O’Regan 7/1
2014 The Giant Bolster Simon Hunt & Gary Lambton David Bridgwater 9-11-00 Tom Scudamore 6/1
2015 Many Clouds Trevor Hemmings Oliver Sherwood 8-11-10 Leighton Aspell 4/1
2016 Smad Place Trish Andrews Alan King 9-11-06 Richard Johnson 9/2
2017 Many Clouds Trevor Hemmings Oliver Sherwood 10-11-10 Leighton Aspell 8/1
2018 Definitly Red Phil & Julie Martin Brian Ellison 9-11-06 Danny Cook 7/1
2019 Frodon Paul Vogt Paul Nicholls 7-11-06 Bryony Frost 9/4
2020 Santini Mr & Mrs R Kelvin-Hughes Nicky Henderson 8-11-04 Nico de Boinville 13/8
2021 Native River 11 11-06 Brocade Racing Colin Tizzard Richard Johnson 13/2

* Cavvies Clown was first past the post in 1988, but subsequently failed a dope test ** Staged at Wincanton