Boylesports Champion Chase
Grade 1, Punchestown 17:30
€250,000 added,
5yo plus,
2m, Class 1   
Tuesday 24th April 2018

1 Un De Sceaux 9/2
2 Douvan 4/5 f
3 A Toi Phil 33/1
9 ran NR: Special Tiara Dist: 3¾l, 7l, 4½l
Time: 4m 16.00s (slow by 18.00s)

Un De Sceaux leads from start-to-finish to see off Douvan

Un De Sceaux
© Caroline Norris
Un De Sceaux

Trainer Willie Mullins made a dream start in his bid to retain the Irish trainers' championship on the opening day of the 2018 Punchestown Festival.

He won three of the day's first four races and had narrowed the gap in the title race to trail rival Gordon Elliott by €226,714.

Un De Sceaux, ridden by Mullins' son Patrick, provided the icing when making all to come home three and three-quarter lengths ahead of stablemate Douvan in the €275,000 Grade 1 Boylesports Champion Chase.

"It's been a very good start to the week, so far so good," said an understated Mullins. "I thought looking at Un De Sceaux that he was not really going in the first half of the race. He was on the wrong leg and not galloping out. Patrick said that he started to gallop at the first one down the back so decided to let him go on because at least he was moving well.

"Paul (Townend on Douvan) thought he might have had enough in the tank to catch Un De Sceaux, but when he asked him to move he slightly disappointed. But Douvan showed he is no back number. Paul said he just didn't lengthen his stride as he thought he might. It was a hell of a performance from the winner, especially as he had been to Cheltenham and Fairyhouse.

"I was disappointed with Douvan. I don't know why he did what he did. Maybe we minded him a bit too much after Cheltenham. We are always trying to mind him, but maybe I should have run him in Fairyhouse or given him a few extra gallops."

Amateur rider Patrick Mullins added: "I have been dreaming about riding that horse, and since I was told I would be riding him, I have been like Charlie when he got the golden ticket in Willy Wonka. I schooled Un De Sceaux yesterday and even schooling him was some buzz, but it took him a mile to warm into the race. He did not jump or travel as well as he can and I was a little bit worried but I think that was down to the good ground.

"Once he warmed up and started going, I just let him at it. He runs horses into the ground, doesn't he? Realistically, I did not think he was going to beat Douvan or maybe Min on this ground over this trip. He is a horse that always runs well though so you can never count him out."

Boylesports Champion Chase
€250,000 added, 5yo plus, 2m, Class 1
9 ran
Going: Yielding to Soft

Pos D Horse SP Jockey Weight Trainer Age
1st Un De Sceaux (FR) 9/2 Mr P W Mullins
W P Mullins 10
2nd Douvan (FR) 4/5f P Townend
W P Mullins 8
3rd 7 A Toi Phil (FR) 33/1 J W Kennedy
G Elliott 8
4th Min (FR) 3/1 D J Mullins
W P Mullins 7
5th nk Doctor Phoenix (IRE) 12/1 M P Walsh
G Elliott 10
6th 8 Ballycasey (IRE) 66/1 D E Mullins
W P Mullins 11
7th Ordinary World (IRE) 16/1 D N Russell
H de Bromhead 8
8th 3 The Game Changer (IRE) 66/1 M A Enright
G Elliott 9
9th 15 Tell Us More (IRE) 100/1 K M Donoghue
G Elliott 9
NR Special Tiara N D Fehily
H de Bromhead 11

Mathematician Betting

Past Results:

Year Horse Age/Wt/Owner Trainer Jockey
2017 Fox Norton 5/2 7-11-12
Ann & Alan Potts Limited
C L Tizzard R M Power
2016 God's Own 9/1 8-11-12
Crossed Fingers P’ship
T R George P J Brennan
2015 Felix Yonger 5/1 9-11-12
Andrea & Graham Wylie
Willie Mullins Danny Mullins
2014 Sizing Europe 7/1 12-11-12
Ann & Alan Potts P’ship
Henry de Bromhead Andrew Lynch
2013 Sprinter Sacre
1/9 Fav
Mrs Caroline Mould
Nicky Henderson GB Barry Geraghty
2012 Sizing Europe
8/13 Fav
Ann & Alan Potts P’ship
Henry de Bromhead Andrew Lynch
2011 Big Zeb
Pat Redmond
Colm Murphy Barry Geraghty
2010 Golden Silver
Violet O’Leary
Willie Mullins Paul Townend
2009 Master Minded 30/100 Fav 6-11-12
Clive Smith
Paul Nicholls GB Ruby Walsh
2008 Twist Magic
6/4 Fav
Barry Fulton, Tony Hayward, Michael Lynch
Paul Nicholls GB Ruby Walsh
2007 Mansony 13/2 8-11-12
Michael Mulholland
Arthur Moore Davy Russell
2006 Newmill 5/4 Fav 8-11-12
Mary Hayes
John Murphy Andrew McNamara
2005 Rathgar Beau 8/1 9-11-12
One-O-Eight Racing Club
Eamon Sheehy Shay Barry
2004 Moscow Flyer 4/11 Fav 10-11-12
Brian Kearney
Jessica Harrington Barry Geraghty
2003 Flagship Uberalles 8/1 9-12-00
J P McManus
Philip Hobbs GB Richard Johnson
2002 Strong Run 4/1 9-12-00
Michael McGrath
Noel Meade Paul Carberry
*2001 Micko’s Dream 5/1 9-12-00
Sport Racing Club
Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh
2000 Get Real 3/1 9-11-06
Pioneer Heat-Treatment
Nicky Henderson GB Mick Fitzgerald
1999 Celibate 7/1 8-11-09
Stamford Bridge P’ship
Charlie Mann GB Richard Dunwoody
1998 Big Matt 16/1 10-10-11
Ted Benfield & Bill Brown
Nicky Henderson GB Mick Fitzgerald
1997 Klairon Davis 11/10 Fav 8-12-00
Chris Jones
Arthur Moore Francis Woods
1996 Klairon Davis 5/2 7-12-00
Chris Jones
Arthur Moore Francis Woods
1995 Strong Platinum 3/1 Fav 7-11-01
Theresa McCoubrey
Paddy Burke Conor O’Dwyer
1994 Saraemma 16/1 8-10-12
Dermot Cox
Homer Scott Kevin O’Brien
1993 Viking Flagship 5/4 Fav 6-10-07
Roach Foods Ltd
David Nicholson GB Richard Dunwoody
1992 The Musical Priest 8/1 10-10-07
Mrs Seamus Purcell
Michael Purcell Jason Titley
1991 Good For A Laugh 8/1 7-9-11
Dr Michael Smurfit
Arthur Moore Charlie Swan
1990 Rust Never Sleeps 14/1 6-10-06
D M Murphy
Austin Leahy Gerry O’Neill
1989 Super Furrow 12/1 9-12-00
Mrs M Marshall
Jerry O’Neill Padge Gill
1988 Flying Ferret 8/1 7-9-07
Mrs V O’Leary
Tony Redmond Brendan Powell
1987 Eddie Wee 11/2 Jt Fav 11-10-12
Mrs Y Rock
Billy Rock Conor O’Dwyer
1986 Another Brownie 6/1 7-9-07
S Lucey
M McGrath J P Byrne
1985 Buck House 11/10 Fav 7-11-07
Mrs S Purcell
Mouse Morris Tommy Carmody
1984 Travelowen 6/4 Fav 7-12-00
Mrs M Kelly
Tom Costello Mr Tom Costello
1983 Turloughmore Lad 7/1 8-9-07
M McDonagh
Paddy Norris Paul Leech
1982 Light The Wad 3/1 9-11-03
Exors of Patrick Downey
Dessie Hughes Tom Morgan
1981 Light The Wad 6/1 8-10-10
Patrick Downey
Dessie Hughes Frank Leavy
1980 Paddy Bouler 7/4 Fav 7-11-04
P Rooney
Pat Rooney S Lynch

Join Free Racing Tips for FREE today.