William Hill Champion Chase
Grade 1, Punchestown 17:25
€275,000 guaranteed,
5yo plus,
2m, Class 1   
Tuesday 25th April 2023

Horses 468x60 Jpg

1 Energumene 2/7F
2 Chacun Pour Soi 20/1
3 Blue Lord 10/1
5 ran NR: Rebel Gold (lame) Distances: ¾l, 3¼l, 6l
Time: 4m 7.10s (slow by 9.10s)

Having successfully defended his crown in the Queen Mother Champion Chase at Cheltenham last month, Energumene was the 2-7 favourite to also make it back-to-back wins in this two-mile Grade One.

Chacun Pour Soi, who won the race in 2021, is now very much in the twilight of his career at the age of 11 and recent efforts over a variety of trips had suggested his best days were behind him.

But the veteran proved there is life in him yet with a spirited display before eventually giving best on the run-in.

Trainer Willie Mullins fielded four of the five runners in all and the race was his for the taking after Henry de Bromhead’s front-running mare Magic Daze gave way long before the home turn.


Energumene, who had not entirely convinced in the jumping department, travelled smoothly into the straight under Paul Townend, but so did Chacun Pour Soi in the hands of Danny Mullins and the older horse had poked his nose by the time both horses landed after jumping the final fence.

Energumene, though, dug deep when he needed to, getting up in the closing stages to prevail by three-quarters of a length.

Mullins said: “He normally wins his races with class, but today he had to get down and fight it out. He answered every call from Paul and showed his grit.

“Paul really pulled that race out of the fire and that’s the difference between a good jockey and a great jockey.

“You can see probably the end of the season getting to him. Paul said he wasn’t as sharp as his last run at Cheltenham and he missed two fences, which isn’t like him.

“I was delighted with Chacun Pour Soi. We had been trying different distances and it wasn’t working so we said today we’d come back to two miles. We’ll see what we do with him now and have a word with Rich (Ricci, owner).”

Townend added: “I know how good Chacun can be around here, so when he appeared I was worried. I thought it was going to come to the jump at the last and Danny seemed to get away from it a bit better than me.

“Chacun’s last furlong has always kind of been his slowest, though, so I had confidence in this lad getting him once Danny hadn’t gone on me.”

William Hill Champion Chase
€275,000 guaranteed, 5yo plus, 2m, Class 1
5 ran
Going: Yielding to Soft

1    Energumene 9 11-12 W P Mullins Paul Townend 2/7F
2 ¾ Chacun Pour Soi 11 11-12 W P Mullins Danny Mullins 20/1
3 Blue Lord 8 11-12 W P Mullins Daryl Jacob 10/1
4 6 Gentleman De Mee 7 11-12 W P Mullins Mark Walsh 13/2
5 63 Magic Daze 7 11-5 Henry De Bromhead Rachael Blackmore 28/1
NR 5 Rebel Gold 10 11-12 Patrick T Foley NOn RUNNER

Mathematician Betting

Past Results:

Year Horse Age/Wt/Owner Trainer Jockey
2022 Energumene 4/7F 8-11-12
Tony Bloom
Willie Mullins Paul Townend
2021 Chacun Pour Soi 6/5F 9-12-00
E O'Connell
Willie Mullins Paul Townend
2020 Abandoned
2019 Un De Sceaux 11/4 11-11-12
E O'Connell
Willie Mullins Paul Townend
2018 Un De Sceaux 9/2 10-11-12
E O'Connell
Willie Mullins Mr P W Mullins
2017 Fox Norton 5/2 7-11-12
Ann & Alan Potts Limited
C L Tizzard R M Power
2016 God's Own 9/1 8-11-12
Crossed Fingers P’ship
T R George P J Brennan
2015 Felix Yonger 5/1 9-11-12
Andrea & Graham Wylie
Willie Mullins Danny Mullins
2014 Sizing Europe 7/1 12-11-12
Ann & Alan Potts P’ship
Henry de Bromhead Andrew Lynch
2013 Sprinter Sacre
1/9 Fav
Mrs Caroline Mould
Nicky Henderson GB Barry Geraghty
2012 Sizing Europe
8/13 Fav
Ann & Alan Potts P’ship
Henry de Bromhead Andrew Lynch
2011 Big Zeb
Pat Redmond
Colm Murphy Barry Geraghty
2010 Golden Silver
Violet O’Leary
Willie Mullins Paul Townend
2009 Master Minded 30/100 Fav 6-11-12
Clive Smith
Paul Nicholls GB Ruby Walsh
2008 Twist Magic
6/4 Fav
Barry Fulton, Tony Hayward, Michael Lynch
Paul Nicholls GB Ruby Walsh
2007 Mansony 13/2 8-11-12
Michael Mulholland
Arthur Moore Davy Russell
2006 Newmill 5/4 Fav 8-11-12
Mary Hayes
John Murphy Andrew McNamara
2005 Rathgar Beau 8/1 9-11-12
One-O-Eight Racing Club
Eamon Sheehy Shay Barry
2004 Moscow Flyer 4/11 Fav 10-11-12
Brian Kearney
Jessica Harrington Barry Geraghty
2003 Flagship Uberalles 8/1 9-12-00
J P McManus
Philip Hobbs GB Richard Johnson
2002 Strong Run 4/1 9-12-00
Michael McGrath
Noel Meade Paul Carberry
*2001 Micko’s Dream 5/1 9-12-00
Sport Racing Club
Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh
2000 Get Real 3/1 9-11-06
Pioneer Heat-Treatment
Nicky Henderson GB Mick Fitzgerald
1999 Celibate 7/1 8-11-09
Stamford Bridge P’ship
Charlie Mann GB Richard Dunwoody
1998 Big Matt 16/1 10-10-11
Ted Benfield & Bill Brown
Nicky Henderson GB Mick Fitzgerald
1997 Klairon Davis 11/10 Fav 8-12-00
Chris Jones
Arthur Moore Francis Woods
1996 Klairon Davis 5/2 7-12-00
Chris Jones
Arthur Moore Francis Woods
1995 Strong Platinum 3/1 Fav 7-11-01
Theresa McCoubrey
Paddy Burke Conor O’Dwyer
1994 Saraemma 16/1 8-10-12
Dermot Cox
Homer Scott Kevin O’Brien
1993 Viking Flagship 5/4 Fav 6-10-07
Roach Foods Ltd
David Nicholson GB Richard Dunwoody
1992 The Musical Priest 8/1 10-10-07
Mrs Seamus Purcell
Michael Purcell Jason Titley
1991 Good For A Laugh 8/1 7-9-11
Dr Michael Smurfit
Arthur Moore Charlie Swan
1990 Rust Never Sleeps 14/1 6-10-06
D M Murphy
Austin Leahy Gerry O’Neill
1989 Super Furrow 12/1 9-12-00
Mrs M Marshall
Jerry O’Neill Padge Gill
1988 Flying Ferret 8/1 7-9-07
Mrs V O’Leary
Tony Redmond Brendan Powell
1987 Eddie Wee 11/2 Jt Fav 11-10-12
Mrs Y Rock
Billy Rock Conor O’Dwyer
1986 Another Brownie 6/1 7-9-07
S Lucey
M McGrath J P Byrne
1985 Buck House 11/10 Fav 7-11-07
Mrs S Purcell
Mouse Morris Tommy Carmody
1984 Travelowen 6/4 Fav 7-12-00
Mrs M Kelly
Tom Costello Mr Tom Costello
1983 Turloughmore Lad 7/1 8-9-07
M McDonagh
Paddy Norris Paul Leech
1982 Light The Wad 3/1 9-11-03
Exors of Patrick Downey
Dessie Hughes Tom Morgan
1981 Light The Wad 6/1 8-10-10
Patrick Downey
Dessie Hughes Frank Leavy
1980 Paddy Bouler 7/4 Fav 7-11-04
P Rooney
Pat Rooney S Lynch

Odds catcher